How To Tell if You Have Been Blocked on Snapchat (7 Smart Tips)

9 minutes read

Snapchat is a common and popular way to communicate on the internet. As is common with all forms of social media, you can be blocked by people who don’t want you to see what they post anymore.

It can be very frustrating when you consider how you suddenly transitioned from having daily communications with the user to having none at all. What’s worse? When you can’t see any of your conversations, you can’t send them more snaps or find their profile in your friend list. Blocking you means you are being cut off from every form of connection and communication you have with a user on Snapchat.

If you suspect you’ve been blocked because you aren’t seeing your fave’s snaps anymore, how can you confirm it?

We first want you to understand that it can be a bit hard to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat because Snapchat does not send a notification when someone blocks or deletes you from his or her friend’s list. You also cannot place an inquiry to discover who blocked you via Snapchat support, so you have to become an investigative journalist to find out. Okay, maybe you won’t really become one, but do some digging for yourself. You get it?

Next, we want you to understand that there are multiple ways to find out whether or not you have been blocked on Snapchat, and in this article, we will share with you how to confirm your hypothesis.

With the aid of simple steps and pictures, you will know how to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat.

Here are a few ways to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat.

Option One: Search for the Person’s Username

This is the first tip on how to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat because it is the easiest one. It is crucial if you have not had a conversation with the user recently.

What do you do? Just go to Snapchat and search for their username or full name in the search box. If nothing comes up when you search for their username or full name, that’s a sure sign that you have been blocked. On the other hand, if you can still see their name after searching that probably means you were deleted from their friends list.

Here’s a simple breakdown of how to do so:

  • Open the Snapchat app
  • Click on the search icon at the top menu
  • Type in the username or full name
  • Click search and wait for the results 
  • If there are no results, you are blocked.

How-To-Tell-if-You-Have-Been-Blocked-on-Snapchat

Option Two: Check your conversations with the suspected user

The second option for how to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat is to check your conversation box with the user.

This option is very important if you have recently sent or received snaps from the user. If the user is your friend, partner, colleague, or family member, chances are you have both been having a back-and-forth conversation before now. If you can’t find the user’s chat on the list, you have been blocked.

Here’s the breakdown of how to do so:

  • Go to Snapchat
  • Tap the chat icon on the bottom menu
  • Scroll through and try to find the suspected user.

How-To-Tell-if-You-Have-Been-Blocked-on-Snapchat

Option three: Check your Snapchat contact list

The third way to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat is to look for your friend, family member, or colleague by typing their name in the contact list.

If their name was there earlier but now does not appear in the list, this means they have blocked you. It’s as clear and simple as that. It also means you can no longer send them snaps until they unblock your account.

Here’s how to directly search for your friend on Snapchat:

  • Open the Snapchat app 
  • Tap on the search icon in the upper left corner of the screen, and a pop-up with your friend’s name appears. 
  • Scroll through to confirm. 

How-To-know-if-You-Have-Been-Blocked-on-Snapchat-1

Option Four: Try to send the user a message on Snapchat

For this answer on how to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat, you have to ensure you have an internet connection.

Go to your inbox and open it. Then send a message. If it gets delivered successfully, then all is well. If not, you will see an automatic warning that reads, ‘Failed to send your message, tap to try again‘.

However, if the message status shows ‘pending’ with a gray symbol, you were unfriended.

Here’s what that will look like:

How-To-Tell-if-someone-has-blocked-you-on-Snapchat

Option Five: Check their snap score

Snapchat score is a number that shows how often you send Snaps, receive them, add users, share stories, etc. One way to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat is to check the user’s snap score.

If you notice a number does not appear next to their username, this means they have either blocked or deleted you from their contact list.

Here’s how this looks:

How-To-Tell-if-You-Have-Been-Blocked-on-Snapchat

 

A limitation to this is that if you did not know their snap score before you suspected you were blocked, you might not figure out the difference. What if they blocked someone else and not you?

Option Six: Check their display name

This is the sixth step on our list of how to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat. It is a simple and straightforward option to consider.

Just open your Snapchat account and check the user’s profile on your contact or friend list. If it shows their display name as the same as their username, then you have been blocked.

If you’ve tried all six options offered above and are still not sure, don’t worry.

There is one last, foolproof way to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat.

Option Seven: Use a different Snapchat account to search for the user’s name

We saved the best for last. It is the last option, and if you confirm this option, you know without a doubt you have been blocked.

You can then boldly call or text that colleague or family member and tell them, ‘And by the way, I know you blocked me on Snapchat’. If the suspected user isn’t someone you know personally, lick your wounds or try to find out why.

Back to option seven on how to tell if you have been blocked on Snapchat.

‘What is this option?’ you may ask. Here is what you have to do:

You have to sign out of Snapchat and create a new Snapchat account, or ask someone for permission to use their Snapchat account.

If you check and the user appears on the other person’s account or your new account using any of the aforementioned options, know for certainty that you have been blocked. We do not think you need a picture to show how to do this.

So now that you are aware of how to find out if or not you have been blocked on Snapchat, you may now put on your investigative glasses, go undercover, and try out these moves.

Also, If you’re interested in learning about a hacking app for Snapchat, make sure to check Deccan Herald for the best tips and guides.

We hope one or all of these seven options were helpful for you.

Leave a Comment

DISCLOSURE: Some posts may have affiliate links, which means that if you click on the links and make a purchase, we get a commission. Note: That doesn’t affect our recommendations in any way. We are committed to giving you the best.